Particularly industrialized, Matola, capital of the province of Maputo, plays a major economic and commercial role. However, the municipality observes that the taxes collected from citizens are insufficient, thus having an impact on its ability to provide other essential services to taxpayers. Unfortunately, the city council is not always able to hold the population to account because it does not have reliable data on who is eligible for the tax.

This is why the City wishes to undertake work aimed at setting up an electronic tax system, an ambition to which it intends to respond by joining the ASToN network.

Matola en chiffres

  • Population : 1 032 197
  • Superficie : 373 km²
  • Densité de la population : 2 767,3 / km²
  • Budget pour l’année 2020 estimé à : 549 683 201,46 MZM (environ 8 204 226,89 USD)
  • Taux de pénétration du smartphone : 40-60 %
  • Taux d'accès à internet : 20 %

Que signifie le terme « ville intelligente » ?

Pour Matola, une ville intelligente est une ville qui utilise les systèmes numériques pour résoudre les problèmes de tous les citoyens, et qui le fait en utilisant des informations fiables pour des services résilients et intégrés.
Pour le conseil municipal de Matola, il est également essentiel de relier les gens par la technologie numérique et d’optimiser la facilité d’accès des citoyens aux informations et aux services.

Secteur d’intervention privilégié
pour ASToN

E-TAXE

La thématique choisie par Matola est le e-taxe.

Le principal problème identifié à Matola est que les impôts perçus auprès des citoyens sont insuffisants, ce qui a une incidence sur la capacité de la municipalité à fournir d’autres services essentiels. Les systèmes actuels de recouvrement de l’impôt sont inefficaces et de nombreux citoyens et entreprises se soustraient à leurs obligations. Malheureusement, le conseil n’est pas toujours en mesure de demander des comptes à la population, car il ne dispose pas de données fiables sur les personnes éligibles à l’impôt.
La grande majorité des impôts sont recouvrés manuellement et repose sur la présence des citoyens aux points de collecte dédiés. Cependant, il arrive fréquemment que les citoyens ne se sachent pas redevables de l’impôt, ou ignorent comment le payer car le système est compliqué.
Alors que le système fiscal en ligne actuel vise à réduire la charge pesant sur les citoyens et l’administration, il ne couvre que deux impôts jusqu’à présent. Le problème majeur est que les citoyens choisissent de payer la plupart de leurs impôts en personne, à leur banque ou au point de collecte dédié.
Un moyen potentiel de mesurer l’efficacité des projets numériques dans ce domaine serait d’augmenter les recettes fiscales et d’utiliser un service de recouvrement des impôts en ligne.

Constatations : le point de départ pour traiter ces problèmes

Les constations suivantes constituent le point de départ pour Matola dans son travail visant à mettre en place un système d’impôts électronique. Sur la base de recherches menées durant la Phase 1, elles décrivent les points forts et les difficultés, inextricablement liés, qui doivent être pris en compte.

Une opportunité massive visant à générer des revenus via le recouvrement des impôts existe, et le CMCM est déjà en train de mettre en place un système en ce sens.

Si le renforcement des tribunaux fiscaux montre une meilleure application de la collecte des impôts ces dernières années, il existe néanmoins à Matola une possibilité significative d’augmenter les recettes fiscales en raison d’un manque d’informations sur le recouvrement des impôts en général.
Jusqu’à 500 000 citoyens sont potentiellement redevables de l’impôt et la distance de service entre eux pourrait être réduite grâce aux outils numériques. La numérisation des systèmes de recettes fiscales a déjà commencé, ce qui laisse entrevoir des possibilités de croissance prometteuses.

Il est parfois difficile d’atteindre les citoyens de Matola car ils sont peu instruits, sont résistants au changement et n’ont souvent pas les moyens d’accéder à l’internet.

Il y a un taux élevé d’analphabétisme et d’illettrisme numérique parmi la population de Matola, et une résistance notable au changement par rapport aux pratiques existantes. Cela signifie que l’utilisation du système fiscal en ligne s’est avérée limitée. Une proportion importante de la population n’a pas non plus accès à l’internet.

Pour le conseil municipal, le manque de données clés et d’infrastructures numériques, ainsi que les ressources humaines limitées, représentent un risque important.

La municipalité ne dispose pas de données complètes sur les adresses de la ville ni d’un registre des propriétés. On constate également un manque de clarté sur la manière de définir la valeur d’un bâtiment à des fins fiscales. De plus, en ce qui concerne la perception des impôts, l’infrastructure numérique entourant les points de collecte présente aujourd’hui des lacunes (notamment en termes de connexion et d’acquisition d’un serveur), de même que les ressources humaines internes sont insuffisantes pour assurer et contrôler le service de recouvrement. Enfin, les ressources humaines et matérielles dont dispose le personnel des autorités municipales pour atteindre les groupes les plus marginalisés font défaut.

Bien que le conseil municipal dispose d’une faible capacité numérique interne, il a l’habitude de travailler avec des acteurs et des fournisseurs de services externes.

Il existe à la fois un manque de capacité et de confiance de la part de nombreux membres du personnel du conseil dans leur capacité à gérer un projet numérique. En outre, peu d’ordinateurs sont mis à disposition et la connexion internet dans les bureaux du CMCM n’est pas optimale. L’autorité locale s’est concentrée sur ces faits et s’est associée étroitement avec des fournisseurs externes pour mener à bien des projets numériques et gérer les données.

L’important transfert de pouvoirs aux conseils municipaux signifie que le partage des informations ou l’alignement avec le gouvernement national est insuffisant.

Le transfert de pouvoirs du gouvernement national aux autorités locales a entraîné un manque de partage des données entre les différents types d’acteurs gouvernementaux. La municipalité a donc la possibilité de créer un système fiscal qui n’est pas intégré aux protocoles fiscaux nationaux. En conclusion, si la communication intermunicipale fonctionne efficacement, il n’existe aucun système fiscal intégré dans toute la province.

Particularly industrialized, Matola, capital of the province of Maputo, plays a major economic and commercial role. However, the municipality observes that the taxes collected from citizens are insufficient, thus having an impact on its ability to provide other essential services to taxpayers. Unfortunately, the city council is not always able to hold the population to account because it does not have reliable data on who is eligible for the tax.

This is why the City wishes to undertake work aimed at setting up an electronic tax system, an ambition to which it intends to respond by joining the ASToN network.

Matola in figures

  • Population: 1 032 197 inhabitants
  • Surface area: 373 km²
  • Population density: 2 767,3 / km²
  • Local authority budget: 549 683 201,46 MZM (around 8 204 226,89 USD)
  • Smartphone penetration rate: 40-60 %
  • Internet access rate: 20 %

What does the city mean by “smart city”?

For Matola, a smart city is one that uses digital sys- tems to solve problems for all citizens, and that does so using reliable information for resilient and integrated services.
Connecting people through digital technology, and improving the ease of access to information and ser- vices for citizens, is also crucial for Matola Municipal Council.

Focus area for ASToN

Tax collection

Matola’s chosen theme is Tax collection

The key issue identified within Matola is that insufficient tax is collected from citizens, which impacts the municipality’s ability to deliver other essential ser- vices. Current tax collection systems are not effective, and many citizens and businesses avoid paying their taxes. Unfortunately, the council isn’t always able to hold people to account for this as they don’t have robust data on who is eligible for tax.
The vast majority of tax collection is done manually, and relies on citizens attending in person at tax collection points. However, citizens often do not know that they are required to pay taxes or how to pay their tax, as the system is complicated.
While the existing online tax system aims to reduce the burden on both cit- izens and administration, it only covers two taxes so far. The big problem is that the citizens choose to pay most of their taxes in person, at their bank or tax collection point.
A potential way to measure the success of digital projects for this issue would be by an increase in tax revenue, as well as utilization of the online tax col- lection service.

Findings: the starting point for addressing these problems

The following findings set out the starting point for Matola as they work to address tax collection. Based on research conducted over the course of Phase 1, they describe the interlinked strengths and challenges that need to be taken into account.

There is a massive opportunity for generating revenue through tax collection that the CMCM is already building towards

While the strengthening of fiscal tribunals shows stronger enforcement of tax collection in recent years, there is still a massive opportunity in Matola to increase tax revenue based on a lack of information on tax collection more generally. As many as 500,000 citizens are potentially eligible for tax and the service distance between them could be shortened using digital tools. Digitalisation of tax revenue systems has already begun, so shows promising room for growth.

The citizens of Matola may be hard to reach as they have low literacy, are resistant to change, and often cannot afford to access the internet

There is high illiteracy and digital illiteracy among the population of Matola, and an observed resistance to change from existing practices. This means that the online tax system has had somewhat limited usage. High internet coverage is also not reflected by internet access for a significant proportion of the population.
For the city council there is a significant risk posed by the lack of key data and digital infrastructure, as well as limited human resources
The municipality lacks complete data on city addresses and a property regis- try. There is too a lack of clarity about how to define the value of a building for tax purposes. Furthermore, when it comes to revenue collection, the digital infrastructure surrounding collection points today is weak (including connec- tivity and acquisition of a server), and there are insufficient internal human resources for providing and monitoring the revenue collection service. Finally, there is a lack of human resources and materials held by city authority staff in how to reach out to more marginalized groups.

While the city council has low internal digital capacity they have experience working with external actors and service providers

There is both a lack of capability and confidence from many of the council staff in their ability to manage a digital project. Additionally, there are few comput- ers and low internet connectivity in the CMCM offices. The local authority has worked with these facts by partnering closely with external providers to con- duct digital projects and manage data.

Significant devolution of power to the city councils means there is insufficient information sharing or alignment with national government

The devolution of power from national government to local authorities has meant that there is a lack of data sharing between different types of govern- ment actors. This also means that there is potential for the municipality to create a tax system that isn’t integrated with national tax protocols. Finally, while inter-municipal communication is strong, there is no integrated tax system across the province.